Children’s Loveliness for Grown Ups

For once I feel that I have been ahead of the game, so to speak. Last Christmas I asked my mum (of course it to had to be my mum) for a ‘grown up’ colouring book. Yes, these books do exist and not only do they exist,   they have become bestsellers in the last few months.

Having two little girls, I have often spent a calm, and relatively quiet, afternoon colouring in Rapunzel, Sully from Monsters Inc and more recently Anna and Elsa with one or both of my little ladies. And I have enjoyed it. I stay within the lines and I think carefully about the exact colour of gel pen/felt tip/colouring pencil that I will use next. But being a mummy, I was always instructed to colour the flowers or the sky or the general background – never the main character; to be honest this was fine. I prefer the small fiddly, colourful bits to focus on. So when I discovered ‘The Creative Colouring Book for Grown Ups’ I was thrilled.

IMG_3827

My very own colouring book to play with by myself! The designs range from butterflies and flowers to geometrical images, perfect for colour patterns and themes (you see how seriously I’m taking this!) I have bought a set of gel pens all for myself, although haven’t splashed out on any fine liners just yet. And since Christmas the trend has exploded with books such ‘Colour Me Calm’ and ‘The Secret Garden’ becoming instant best sellers.

To be honest I cannot recommend it enough! I am not naturally creative, so cannot unwind through painting or drawing and this is a perfect compromise. My biggest problems are sticking to one page to finish and keeping the book away from sticky little fingers who love to colour too! 🙂

IMG_4334IMG_4336IMG_4335

Leave a comment